ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award

2016 ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award Now Open

ACS_LogoJournalists and media professionals are invited to enter the Inaugural ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award.

The ACS is the professional association for Australia’s Information and Communication Technology (ICT) sector.

ACS are passionate about recognising professionalism, developing ICT skills and building a community with a true sense of belonging.

ACS strive for ICT to be recognised as a driver of innovation in our society, relevant across all sectors.



Entries for the 2016 ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award.

Submissions are due by Wednesday 30 September 2016 and should be lodged as follows:

Four (4) copies of each submission including four copies of any videotapes, audiotapes or press clips should be posted to:

The Awards Coordinator
The National Press Club of Australia
PO Box 6184
Kingston ACT 2604

or delivered to:

16 National Circuit, Barton ACT 2600


The winning journalist will receive a study tour to the value of $10,000 and have his or her name inscribed on the honour board permanently displayed at the National Press Club.


Winner of the ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award 2016 Announced


The AFR Weekend’s John McDuling has been named the ACS IT Journalist of the Year for his story
“Venture Capitalists more Demons than Angels”.

John was presented with the award at a National Press Club Address by the Minister assisting the Prime Minster the Hon Dan Tehan MP.

unspecified John McDuling with Anthony Wong, President of ACS and the Hon Dan Tehan MP (pictured above)



Commendations were also awarded by the judges to Christopher Griffith from the Australian and Ariel Bogle from Mashable.

The judges said the entries were varied and of high quality. They illustrated the range of approaches being taken to inform lay audiences about developments in a rapidly-evolving technological sector. This is necessarily a complex area for journalists, both in keeping abreast of developments and having to judge the level of knowledge of their audiences.

The winner and those commended handled the issues in different but effective ways for a variety of outlets.

Christopher Griffith, Ariel Bogle and John McDuling (pictured right)



There will be information on the ACS Excellence in IT Journalism Award for 2017 in the New Year.