German Grant


awarded by the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germanygerman-embassy-canberra


For over 30 years the German Embassy in Canberra has been offering the annual “German Grant for Journalism” in co-operation with the National Press Club of Australia. The purpose of this grant – which was first awarded in 1986 – is to encourage Australian journalists to present issues pertaining to Germany to Australian audiences.

This year’s topic is:
“Populism and party dissatisfaction – challenges ahead of the German Federal Election?”

The winner is offered a one week research trip to Germany in the lead-up to the 2017 Federal
Election, funded and supported by the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany.

You are invited to compose a comprehensive, well developed outline of your journalistic project and
submit it to the assessment panel, which is convened by the National Press Club of Australia. It is
vital that your exposé contains story ideas and the type of interview partners you wish to meet, as
well as a general idea of the the location(s) you wish to visit within Germany.

The assessment panel takes into account factors such as a detailed project outline, originality and
significance of the basic subject matter in its context. In addition, the prospects of successful
completion and publication will be considered. The winner will be selected jointly by the National
Press Club and the German Embassy.

The German Government will finance travel between Australia and Germany and meet all costs of
travel, accommodation, meals and interpreter/guide services within Germany for up to one week. A
detailed programme will be organised in accordance with the submitted entry. Furthermore, the
winner is free to extend the trip to stay and cover the actual Federal Election or to visit other
European countries/EU institutions in Brussels at her/his own expense.

The journalistic products must be published within six months following your research in Germany.
Therefore please indicate how and where you intend to publish or broadcast your project.

Four hard copies of the application including any attachments are required, along with a brief CV
and a description of your professional career.

Please submit your application accompanied by a recommendation of your editor to the
National Press Club of Australia:

The Awards Co-ordinator
PO Box 6184
ACT 2604

no later than Friday April 7 2017.

The German Embassy wishes to encourage all journalists and media representatives to participate in
this annual competition and to pass on the information to colleagues. A list of alumni can also be
found on the National Press Club’s website.

If you have any queries ahead of submitting your application please do not hesitate to contact the
Press Office at the German Embassy:

Phone: 02-6270-1938 (Ms. Susanne Körber) or -1955 (Ms. Grit Beyer)
E-mail: or


1999Maria Zijlstra ABC Radio
2000Krista HughesAAP
2001/2Susan WyndhamSydney Morning Herald
2003Susan WyndhamSydney Morning Herald
2004Simon GroseCanberra Times
2005Cherelle MurphyAustralian Financial Review
2006Sophie MorrisAustralian Financial Review
2007Chris JohnsonThe West Australian
2008Danielle CroninCanberra Times
2009Steven ScottAustralian Financial Review
2010Kieran GilbertSky News Australia
2011David CroweAustralian Financial Review
2012Michael ShirrefsABC Radio National
2013Joanna HeathAustralian Financial Review
2014Tom ArupThe Age
2015Leesha McKennyThe Sydney Morning Herald
2016Eryk BagshawThe Sydney Morning Herald