European Union – Qantas Journalism Award

Applications are open for the 2019 EU-QANTAS Journalist Award. In its 27th year, the award is open to Australian-based journalists with more than three years’ experience working in Australian print, television or digital media.

Courtesy of Qantas, the winner will travel business class to Europe where they will undertake a ten-day working visit to the European institutions, and up to three EU Member States, to research and report upon their proposed topic covering European themes that are of interest to an Australian audience.

Selection is based primarily on the proposed topic and demonstrated interest to the Australian audience. Originality and innovation is highly valued. Journalists should outline which media platforms they will publish/broadcast on, including the use of social media.

Applicants must submit three examples of published work from the previous 12 months and have their employer’s written recommendation and confirmation to participate in the program, ideally within the second half of 2019.The EU Delegation to Australia will organise the program, including high-level interviews.

Accommodation costs and per diem are covered.

Application deadline: 22 July 2019, 5 PM AEST

To apply, please send your CV and all materials, including digital or audio content via email or post to:

The Awards Coordinator
National Press Club
PO Box 6184
Kingston ACT 2604

*Please include three copies of your application if submitting by post only. 

Enquiries: Nick Pedley, Delegation of the European Union to Australia, Canberra
T. (02) 6271 2744 E.


Susanna Dunkerley, Delegation of the European Union to Australia, Canberra,
T. (02) 6271 2747 E.




 1999Rebecca Gorman ABC Radio
2000Sid MarrisThe Australian
2001Cathy PryorThe Australian
2002Deidre MackenAustralian Financial Review
2003Allesandra FabroAustralian Financial Review
2004Damien CarrickABC Radio National
2005Diana BagnallThe Bulletin
2006Josh GordonThe Age
2006Tony BoydAustralian Financial Review
2007Michael VisontayHerald Sun
2008Tim ColebatchThe Age
2009Cathy AlexanderAustralian Associated Press
2010Lyn GallacherABC Radio National
2011Adam MortonThe Age
2012Eleanor HallABC The World Today
2013Jake SturmerABC News
2014Aaron PatrickAustralian Financial Review
2015Peter RyanABC Radio
2016Angela Macdonald-SmithAustralian Financial Review
2017Laura TingleAustralian Financial Review
2018Brett WorthingtonABC
2019David CroweThe Age & The Sydney Morning Herald