The Caroline Jones Women in Media
Young Journalists Award

The Caroline Jones Women in Media Young Journalists Award –
Application Deadline is CLOSED.

This award recognizes tenacity and passion for the craft of journalism from young women working across rural and regional Australia. It seeks to immerse the award winner in an intensive experience of journalism, politics and government in Canberra.

The annual award will include:

  • $2500 personal learning fund
  • Travel and accommodation to Canberra for five nights
  • National Press Club lunch attendance and question
  • Mentorship from members of the Canberra Women in Media Committee.

The winner will spend time in a variety of Canberra and Press Gallery news rooms throughout the week.

This award seeks to foster commitment and passion for journalism among young women practitioners in rural and regional Australia. It is named in honour of Caroline Jones, AO, a ground-breaking journalist who joined the ABC in 1963 and became the first female reporter for This Day Tonight. She reported for Four Corners between 1972-1981 before presenting Radio National’s Search for Meaning program. In 1996 Jones became the presenter of Australian Story. She is the Patron of Women in Media, a networking initiative for Australian women in media modelled on a successful group first established in Western Australia in 2005.

This award is the first of its kind in encouraging young female rural and regional journalists to experience first-hand the complexities of the media and political landscape across the nation’s capital.

It is a life-changing, horizon-broadening and immersive prize, exposing the winner not only to the institutions of Canberra, including the Press Gallery and National Press Club, but also bringing them into contact with the Women in Media network – providing mentorship, guidance, and insights from Canberra’s most prominent female journalists.


Caroline Jones, Patron Women in Media

Emma Macdonald WiM Canberra Convenor

Ginger Gorman, social justice journalist, WiM Committee Member.

Katharine Murphy, Director National Press Club of Australia


The award will be presented annually and is open to any female rural and regional journalist working in a non-metropolitan area.  Applicants must be aged up to 30 years and have at least one year of full-time industry experience.

Applicants are asked to submit a portfolio of their work across any media platform (television, newspaper, radio, online).

A maximum of three stories must demonstrate tenacity and passion for journalism, an adherence to ethical standards, and a contribution to community understanding and discourse on an issue of choice.

Judges have the discretion to nominate a recipient or to choose not to make the award in any one year.

Stories may include a single issue or a range of issues, including opinion pieces, features, or news.

Submitted work must be the original work of the applicant.

Awards submissions must be delivered via email to and received by July 1.


Email your entry to

Entries should include links to online articles, or recordings of broadcasts on television or radio. A written statement of up to 500 words must accompany the submission outlining the impact of the work, and a brief CV must be included.

The Winner will be notified in August with the Canberra week to be scheduled in October.


 2017 Eliza Goetze Bundaberg News Mail
2018Emily SmithABC