Skip to main content

Journalism Awards

2023 European Union – Qantas Journalism Award

2023 European Union – Qantas Journalism Award

Application deadline: 19 April 2023, 5 PM AEDT

2023 EU-Qantas Journalist Award is CLOSED. 

Join the ranks of Australia’s best journalists and apply for the EU-Qantas Journalist Award.

This prestigious Award started in 1992 and is run in conjunction with National Press Club with business class travel to and from Europe courtesy of Qantas.

The Award is open to an Australian journalist of not less than three years of experience media, who can satisfy the selection panel that they would benefit from a working visit to the European Union. While the subject of the project proposal is open to the journalist’s particular interests, the proposed program must be based on current European-Australian themes, relevant to an Australian audience. The visit is expected to lead to or contribute to coverage on return and a report on the visit plus summary report on resultant coverage must be provided.

The aim is to increase understanding in Australia of European affairs by giving journalists the opportunity to examine issues of interest first hand.

The Award consists of a two-week working visit to EU institutions and up to three Member States. Accommodation costs, a living allowance and travel within Europe are covered. The EU Delegation will assist the successful journalist in formulating a suitable program and ensure interviews are arranged at the most appropriate level.

The trip must be ticketed by end of June 2023 and applicants should complete the program by the end of 2023. 

This award comes at a critical time in global geopolitics and in bilateral relations between the EU and Australia. Australia has made a significant contribution in terms of military equipment, humanitarian assistance and enforcement of sanctions to support Ukraine. By extension, this is support of Europe and the rules based order globally.

It is also hoped that the Free Trade Agreement between the EU and Australia will be finalised this year, multiplying trade by 30 per cent. The EU and Australia both have to gain from the transition to a green economy for which the supply of critical raw materials by Australia is an important factor.

Deadline for applications is COB Monday 17 April 2023.

*Travel must occur via direct flight to Rome between June and October 2023.

For further information, contact Walter Colnaghi:


Tel: +61 2 6271 2777

Applicants are required to disclose if their entry or related journalism is or has been subject to any form of litigation such as claims for defamation or libel etc.
In any event, applicants will indemnify the National Press Club, its judges and corporate partners from any claim for damages and other financial settlements awarded by a court


2023 European Union – Qantas Journalism Award

Applicant's information

Submission Details

    2023 European Union – Qantas Journalism Award Winners


    Rebecca Gorman

    ABC Radio


    Sid Marris

    The Australian


    Cathy Pryor

    The Australian


    Deidre Macken

    Australian Financial Review


    Allesandra Fabro

    Australian Financial Review


    Damien Carrick

    ABC Radio National


    Diana Bagnall

    The Bulletin


    Josh Gordon

    The Age


    Tony Boyd

    Australian Financial Review


    Michael Visontay

    Herald Sun


    Tim Colebatch

    The Age


    Cathy Alexander

    Australian Associated Press


    Lyn Gallacher

    ABC Radio National


    Adam Morton

    The Age


    Eleanor Hall

    ABC The World Today


    Jake Sturmer

    ABC News


    Aaron Patrick

    Australian Financial Review


    Peter Ryan

    ABC Radio


    Angela Macdonald-Smith

    Australian Financial Review


    Laura Tingle

    Australian Financial Review


    Brett Worthington


    Membership Benefits

    Claim your front-row seat to the national conversation and explore the benefits of membership today.

    Apply Now