Skip to main content

Journalism Awards

Wallace Brown Young Journalist Award

The 2020 Wallace Brown Young Journalist Award

This prestigious Award honours the contribution to journalism of former veteran press gallery journalist Wallace Brown. The aim is to give recognition to young journalists who, in their first years of working in the Press Gallery, excel in fair reporting.

The winning journalist will receive $1000 and a glass prize piece. The winner’s name will be inscribed on an honour board permanently displayed at the National Press Club of Australia.

Wallace Brown OAM, BA DipJ, one of the longest serving and most respected members of the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery 1961-1995, was noted for his even-handed reporting of political affairs and his encouragement of young journalists.

After working in Brisbane, London and New York for the Herald and Weekly Times he went to Canberra as the head of bureau for Brisbane’s The Courier Mail.

During his time in Canberra he covered 17 general elections, 38 annual Budgets, 10 Prime Ministers, 8 Governors-General and 11 Opposition Leaders.

He was a foundation member and president of the National Press Club, vice-president of the Press Gallery, and a member of the Old Parliament House Redevelopment Committee. In 1995, he was awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia for services to journalism.

In 2002 he wrote Ten Prime Ministers, Life among the politicians (Longueville Press); in 2006 he completed At random: Anecdotes of a lucky life.

The Wallace Brown Award for the best and fairest early career parliamentary journalist is the only journalism prize which recognises the contribution made by younger members of the Federal Parliamentary Press Gallery.

The Award is made possible by The Courier Mail, Wallace Brown’s family, and the National Press Club of Australia.


Awards submissions must be received by Wednesday 04 November 2020.

Entries should be accompanied by a portfolio of published or broadcast work, a brief written statement of the background to the work, and a current CV of the applicant.

Five copies of each should be posted to:

The Award Coordinator
National Press Club of Australia
PO Box 6184
Kingston ACT 2604

or delivered to:

16 National Circuit, Barton A.C.T

N.B. All applicants will receive an email confirmation that their submission has been received. Any applicant who does not receive the confirmation should contact the awards coordinator at the National Press Club.

Wallace Brown Young Journalist Award Winners


Patricia Karvelas

The Australian


Daniel Street

Nine Network


Jessica Wright

The Canberra Times


Ashleigh Gillon

Sky News


Anna Caldwell

Courier Mail


Joe Kelly

The Australian


Jonathan Swan

Fairfax Media


Matthew Knott

Fairfax Media


Annika Smethurst

Herald Sun


Primrose Riordan

The Australian


Alice Workman

Buzzfeed News


Eryk Bagshaw

SMH & The Age

Membership Benefits

Claim your front-row seat to the national conversation and explore the benefits of membership today.

Apply Now