David Murray AO

Chair, Financial System Inquiry
'Address to the National Press Club'
Tuesday, 15 July 2014
Arrive from 11.30am, lunch 12 noon, speaker 12.30 concludes 1.30pm

Registrations for this event are now closed. Please contact reception for further details.

David Murray joined the Commonwealth Bank in 1966, was appointed Chief Executive Officer in June 1992, and retired from this position in 2005.

In November 2005 the Australian Government announced that Mr. Murray would be Chairman of the Future Fund. His statutory term ended in April 2012.

Mr. Murray is a member of the Oliver Wyman Senior Advisory Board and a Consultant to Tenix Pty Ltd. He was formerly a Senior Advisor to Credit Suisse, Sydney. He has also previously served as a member of the Finance Sector Advisory Council and was the inaugural Chair of the International Forum of Sovereign Wealth Funds.

In 2001, he was awarded the Centenary Medal for service to Australian Society in banking and corporate governance and, in 2007, he was made an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO).

Mr. Murray holds a Bachelor of Business and a Master of Business Administration. He holds an honorary Ph.D. from Macquarie University and the University of Technology, Sydney.

Mr. Murray is currently the Chair of the Financial System Inquiry.