Heather Ridout AO, Professor Ian Chubb & Professor Anne Tiernan

Chair of AustralianSuper, Former Chief Scientist for Australia & Dean (Engagement) for the Griffith Business School, Griffith University
'Rebooting Australian Democracy; renewing faith with voters'
Wednesday, 5 September 2018
Arrive from 11.30am, lunch 12 noon, speaker 12.30 concludes 1.30pm
Canberra - 16 National Circuit, Barton ACT 2600

Registrations for this event are now closed. Please contact reception for further details.

Heather Ridout
Heather Ridout is chair of AustralianSuper – the nation’s largest superannuation fund with $140 billion of members’ retirement assets; a Director of ASX Ltd and a Director of Sims Metal Management – the world’s largest publicly listed recycling company.

Her other appointments include member of the Boards of: the Advance Australia Advisory Board; Asialink; Australian Chamber Orchestra; Australian Cyber Security Growth Network Board; and is a member of ASIC’s – External Advisory Panel.

Her previous appointments include: member of the Reserve Bank Board; member of the Henry Tax Review panel; board member of Infrastructure Australia; member of the Business Roundtable on Climate Change; member of the National Workplace Relations Consultative Committee; member of the Prime Minister’s Taskforce on Manufacturing; co-Chair of the Australian-Canada Economic Leadership Dialogue and a delegate to the B20 – the key business advisory body to the G20.

In June 2013, Ms. Ridout was awarded the rank of Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) in the general division for distinguished service to business and industry through significant contributions to the development of economic and public policy.

Professor Ian Chubb
Emeritus Professor Ian Chubb was Chief Scientist for Australia from May 2011 to January 2016.

Prior to that, Professor Chubb was Vice-Chancellor of the Australian National University from January 2001 to March 2011; Vice-Chancellor of Flinders University of South Australia for six years and the Senior Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Monash University for two years.
From January 1986 to September 1990, Professor Chubb was the Deputy Vice-Chancellor of the University of Wollongong and Honorary Professor of Biology. During the period 1978-1985 he was a staff member in the School of Medicine of Flinders University. Before that he was at Oxford University: 1971-1977 he was a Wellcome Foundation Scholar (Christ Church), a Junior Research Fellow of St John’s College, and a Royal Society Research Fellow. He spent 1969-1971 as a JF & C Heymans Research Fellow at the University of Ghent, Belgium.

He was Chair of the Commonwealth’s Higher Education Council from September 1990 to December 1994 and was, until mid-1994, Deputy Chair of the National Board of Employment, Education and Training.

In 1999 Professor Chubb was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) and in 2006 a Companion (AC) in the order for “service to higher education, including research and development policy in the pursuit of advancing the national interest socially, economically, culturally and environmentally, and to the facilitation of a knowledge-based global economy”. Professor Chubb was awarded a Centenary Medal in 2001, and was the ACT’s Australian of the Year in 2011.

He has been awarded six honorary doctorates: a DSc by Flinders University in 2000; a D.Litt by Charles Darwin University and a D.Univ by the Australian National University, both in 2011; an LLD by Monash University in 2012, a D.Univ by the University of the Sunshine Coast in 2014 and an LLD by the University of Melbourne in 2015.

He was elected a Fellow of the Australian College of Education in 2008 and a Fellow of the Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering and Fellow of the Royal Society of New South Wales in 2014. He was Awarded the Academy Medal of the Australian Academy of Science in 2016 and elected Fellow of the Academy in 2017.

Professor Anne Tiernan
Professor Anne Tiernan is a respected voice in research, postgraduate and professional education in public policy, public administration and public-sector governance. A political scientist with earlier careers in teaching, government and policy research consultancy, Professor Tiernan has written extensively on the political-administrative interface, caretaker conventions, governmental transitions and the work of policy advising. Her publications include six books, articles in national and international journals, and the forthcoming Oxford Handbook of Australian Politics, which she is co-editing with Professor Jenny Lewis from the University of Melbourne. Professor Tiernan co-edited Griffith Review 51: Fixing the System with Professor Julianne Schultz. This sold-out edition of Australia’s premier literary quarterly examined the causes and potential solutions to the widespread perception that Australian governance was in crisis.

Prior to her appointment as Dean (Engagement) in the Griffith Business School, she was founding Director of Griffith University’s Policy Innovation Hub. Professor Tiernan spent ten years as Program Director of the Graduate Certificate in Policy Analysis program, for which she was awarded a National Teaching Citation in 2014. In 2010 the Institute for Public Administration Australia awarded her a National Fellowship in recognition of her “outstanding contribution to the study and practice of public administration”. She is a Fellow of the Australia and New Zealand School of Government (ANZSOG) and has served on a variety of Boards, including the Queensland Public Service Commission. Currently Professor Tiernan is Chair of the Queensland Independent Remuneration Tribunal, an Ordinary Commissioner of the Crime and Corruption Commission and member of the Board of the Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House.