Women of Science

Professor Emma Johnston, Professor Nalini Joshi and Professor Tanya Monro
'The Future of Science: Women'
Wednesday, 30 March 2016
Arrive from 11.30am, lunch 12 noon, speaker 12.30 concludes 1.30pm

Registrations for this event are now closed. Please contact reception for further details.

Emma JohnstonEmma Johnston is a Professor of Marine Ecology and Ecotoxicology at the University of New South Wales and Director of the Sydney Harbour Research Program at the Sydney Institute of Marine Science. Professor Johnston investigates the ecological impacts of human activities in marine ecosystems. She combines the disciplines of ecology, ecotoxicology and invasion biology in an exciting research program that expands our fundamental understanding of marine ecosystems and provides recommendations for management. Her research is conducted in diverse coastal environments, from Antarctica to the Great Barrier Reef, and temperate Australian estuaries. She leads reports and contributes expert opinion to state, federal and international government agencies and consults with industry through the development and implementation of environmental monitoring programs. As Vice President of Science and Technology Australia, and leader of multiple gender equity programs, Emma is a strong advocate for science and for increasing the participation of women in science. Emma has won multiple awards for her research, teaching, and outreach including the Inaugural Australian Academy of Science Nancy Millis Medal for Women in Science (2014), and the 2015 Eureka Award for the Public Communication of Science. She appears regularly in the media and is a television presenter for multiple series of the internationally broadcast BBC/Foxtel Program “Coast Australia”.

Nalini JoshiProfessor Nalini Joshi became entranced by numbers during an unusual childhood in Burma and inspired by astrophysics as a teenager in Australia. She is an ARC Georgina Sweet Australian Laureate Fellow in mathematics at the University of Sydney where she develops mathematical methods to study solutions of integrable systems, which arise everywhere in applications. Nalini is a member of the Commonwealth Science Council and was chosen as one of AFR-Westpac’s 100 Women of Influence in 2015.

Nalini obtained her PhD from Princeton University and has held academic positions around Australia (at ANU, UNSW, the Universities of Adelaide and Sydney) and visiting positions at Princeton, Kyoto University, Manchester University and the Isaac Newton Institute of Mathematical Sciences at Cambridge University. In 2002, she returned to the University of Sydney to take up the Chair of Applied Mathematics, becoming the university’s first female professor of mathematics. Nalini was elected to the Fellowship of the Australian Academy of Science in 2008; has been President of the Australian Mathematical Society; and is Chair of the National Committee for Mathematical Sciences. She is also co-Chair of the Science in Australia Gender Equity (SAGE) Initiative being led jointly by the Australian Academy of Science and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering.

Tanya MonroProfessor Tanya Monro is Deputy Vice Chancellor Research and Innovation and an ARC Georgina Sweet Laureate Fellow at the University of South Australia.

Tanya was the inaugural Director of the Institute for Photonics and Advanced Sensing (IPAS) from 2008 to 2014 and was also the inaugural Director for the ARC Centre of Excellence for Nanoscale BioPhotonics (CNBP) at the University of Adelaide.

Tanya is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AAS), the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE), the Optical Society of America (OSA) and the Australian Institute of Physics. She is a member of the Prime Minister’s Commonwealth Science Council (CSC), the AAS National Committee for Physics, South Australian Economic Development Board and a member of South Australia’s Riverbank Authority. She is Chair of the Council of the National Youth Science Forum (NYSF) and is also an inaugural Bragg Fellow of the Royal Institution of Australia (RiAus).

In 2015 Tanya won the Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research, in 2014 awarded the Beattie Steel Medal of the Australian Optical Society and in 2012 the Australian Academy of Sciences’ Pawsey Medal. In 2011 Tanya was named South Australia’s “Australian of the Year” and the Scopus Young Researcher of the Year. In 2010 she became South Australian Scientist of the Year and Telstra Business Women of the Year (in the Community & Government category). In 2008 she won the Prime Minister’s Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year.

Tanya obtained her PhD in physics in 1998 from The University of Sydney, for which she was awarded the Bragg Gold Medal for the best Physics PhD in Australia. In 2000, she received a Royal Society University Research Fellowship at the Optoelectronics Research Centre at the University of Southampton in the UK. She came to the University of Adelaide in 2005 as inaugural Chair of Photonics. She has published over 500 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings.