World Alzheimer’s Day

Dr Ron Petersen and Ita Buttrose
'Address to the National Press Club'
Wednesday, 21 September 2016
Arrive from 11.30am, lunch 12 noon, speaker 12.30 concludes 1.30pm

Registrations for this event are now closed. Please contact reception for further details.

Ron PetersenDr Ron Petersen is Director of the Mayo Clinic Alzheimer’s Disease Research Center and the Mayo Clinic Study on Aging in the U.S and a world leader in the field of Alzheimer’s disease and dementia. Dr Ronald Petersen was also Ronald Reagan’s personal physician and treated the former President of America’s Alzheimer’s disease.

He has authored over 700 peer-reviewed articles and edited five books on memory disorders, ageing, and Alzheimer’s disease.

Dr. Petersen is one of the recipients of the 2004 MetLife Award for Medical Research in Alzheimer’s Disease and the 2005 Potamkin Prize for Research in Picks, Alzheimer’s, and Related Disorders of the American Academy of Neurology.  He also received the inaugural Ronald and Nancy Reagan Research Institute Award in 2004 from the Alzheimer’s Association and the inaugural Leon Thal Prize of the Lou Ruvo Brain Institute in 2007.  In 2012, he received the Khachaturian award of the Alzheimer’s Association and the Henry Wisniewski Lifetime Achievement Award in 2013.

In 2011, he was appointed by the Secretary of Health and Human Services in the US to serve as the chair of the Advisory Co

mmittee on Research, Care, and Services for the National Alzheimer’s Project Act in the US and has been integral in the work America has done to devise a National Plan to eliminate Alzheimer’s disease by 2025. He was also appointed to the World Dementia Council in 2014 by the UK Prime Minister David Cameron.


Ita Buttrose 2

Ita Buttrose AO OBE is National Ambassador of Alzheimer’s Australia having served as National President from 2011-14.

A former Australian of the Year (2013), she has had a long interest in health and ageing issues. She chairs the Australian Mental Health Prize Advisory Group, is patron of the Macular Disease Foundation and Emeritus Director of Arthritis Australia, an organisation she chaired from 2003-2006. She chaired the National Breast Cancer Centre’s Advisory Network from 2003-2006 and is now Ambassador for Breast Cancer Network Australia. She has served as a judge for the Aged and Community Services awards and the Federal Government’s Excellence in Aged Care Awards

She has had a distinguished media career and currently co-hosts Studio 10 on Network TEN. She was the youngest ever Editor of The Australian Women’s Weekly, the founding editor of Cleo, the first woman to ever edit a major metropolitan newspaper in Australia as Editor-in-Chief of the Sydney Daily & Sunday Telegraphs, and the first woman director of News Limited. In 2011, her early career was the subject of highly-acclaimed ABC miniseries Paper Giants: The Birth of Cleo.

She was made an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO) for her services to the community especially in the field of medical education and health care for her work in spearheading Australia’s HIV/AIDS Education Program. She received an OBE for her services to journalism and the Centenary Medal for business leadership to Australian society.

In 2014 Sydney’s Macquarie University conferred an Honorary Doctor of Letters on Ita in recognition of her contribution to the arts and in 2015 the University of Wollongong conferred an Honorary Doctor of Letters on Ita for her contribution to mental health and ageing.