Skip to main content


The National Press Club has a proud and distinguished history of outstanding journalists who have served as President of the board.

The President is the public face of the National Press Club. Usually a senior member of the federal Parliamentary Press Gallery, the President is an example to their peers in the profession and a defender of media freedom more generally. The President formally chairs board meetings of the National Press Club and guides’ directors in their decision-making duties. The President also has an important role introducing speakers and moderating the discussion at our National Press Club Addresses. 

Current President

Laura Tingle

Laura Tingle was elected as President in December 2020.

Journalist, Essayist and Author Laura Tingle has reported on Australian politics and policy for 40 years. In 2018, she joined the Australian Broadcasting Corporation as chief political correspondent for its flagship current affairs program 7.30, after 16 years with the Australian Financial Review where she was political editor, and previously, senior reporting positions with other major Australian mastheads, reporting on both politics and economics.

A multi-award winning journalist, she is the author of Chasing the Future - a book about the early 1990s recession; and four Quarterly Essays: Great Expectations (2012); Political Amnesia (2015); Follow the Leader (2018); and The High Road: What Australia can learn from New Zealand (November 2020). An assembly of her essays, In Search of Good Government, was published in 2017.

She also regularly appears on Insiders on ABC TV and Late Night Live on ABC Radio.

You can follow Laura on Twitter at @latingle.

Membership Benefits

Claim your front-row seat to the national conversation and explore the benefits of membership today.

Apply Now

Past Presidents 

2015 – 2018

C Uhlmann

2010 – 2015

L Wilson

1992 – 2010

K Randall

1990 - 1992

P Logue

1987 – 1990

R Barton

1985 – 1987

C Davidson

1982 – 1985

K Randall

1981 – 1982

J Lombard

1978 - 1981

R Chalmers

1977 – 1978

L E Catmull

1971 – 1977

T M Hawkins

1969 – 1971

A J Fitzgerald

1968 – 1969

H R Rayner

1967 – 1968

R W Brown

1965 – 1967

S R Hutchinson

1964 – 1965

J Bennetts

1962 – 1964

A Eggleton